Shearwater: Animal Joy

Map Unavailable


Austin-based folk/indie-rock band Shearwater, will release their 8th record Animal Joy on February 14, 2012 via Subpop. Shearwater was formed in in 2001 by Jonathan Meiburg and Will Sheff of Okkervil River and has since included Kim Burke on upright bass and drummer/vibraphonist Thor Harris. Despite a prolific music catalog, I feel like this band is still widely overlooked and under-appreciated. Tisk, tisk.

If you like what you hear below, I’d strongly encourage you to rummage through their other albums— there’s a consistent lineup of jawbreaking moments ahead of you.

For now… Yippee!! Here’s the whole album for streaming! 




Here’s “Snow Leopard,” one of my favorite songs of theirs, from 2008′s Rook:


Additional Links: