River City Extension: Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger

Map Unavailable



New Jersey-based, 8-member folk-rock band River City Extension will release their sophomore album, Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger, on June 5 via XOXO Records / Anchor & Hope Music. The 14-track album was produced by Brian Deck(Modest Mouse, Iron & Wine, Josh Ritter, Secret Machines, Gomez) at Engine Studios in Chicago.


The lyrically ambitious, stylistically adventurous Don’t Let the Sun Go Down On Your Anger confronts thorny issues of personal and spiritual struggle in a manner that’s both intimate and illuminating; songwriter and frontman Joe Michelini describes it as an album about resolution and forgiveness. “For the most part, these songs represent a dark period in my life when I really didn’t like myself,” he explains. “I was still young and still learning, and a lot of people were probably hurt by the person I was at the time. Half of this record is love songs, and half is ‘I’m sorry that I fucked up’ songs — I look at them as a stepping stone, a way to put some distance between myself and that part of my life, and to remind myself that I’ve chosen to do better.”— excerpted from http://www.rivercityextension.com/


Here’s their new track “There and Back Again”


Track list:

1. Glastonbury
2. If You Need Me Back In Brooklyn
3. Slander
4. Welcome To Pittsburgh
5. Point of Surrender
6. Standing Outside A Southern Riot
7. The Fall and The Need To Be Free
8. Down, Down, Down
9. Ballad of Oregon
10. Everything West of Home/Brooklyn (Reprise)
11. Golden Tongue (Thanatopsis)
12. There & Back Again
13. Vanessa’s Song or Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger
14. Lord, I Have Changed



Here’s the video for “South for the Winter”